Candidates Sign Up For Primary

Tuesday, March 11 was sign-up day for major party candidates seeking posts in the November 4 State elections. The following is a summary of local candidates who will be vying for available posts in Sierra County, as well as some of the premier state and federal races gearing up for the June 3 party primaries and some who already are looking ahead to November. A complete list of candidates and a wealth of information relating to the 2014 election is available through the Secretary of State’s website, located at


•County Commissioner (District 1) – Incumbent Democrat Bobby Allen is seeking another term and will be unchallenged in the June 3 party primary elections. Vying for their party’s support and to face off against Allen in November are Republicans Sherry L. Fletcher and Terry G. Taylor.

•County Commissioner (District 2) – Incumbent Democrat and current Commission Chairman Walter Armijo is term-limited in 2014. Democratic candidates Robert J. Parks and David W. Farrell will face off in the June 3 primary election and the winner will challenge sole Republican candidate Kenneth C. Lyon on the November 4 ballot…